Hey baby, it's Tuesday July 20th and that means that there are 80 days left until we leave! Still seems kinda far away doesn't it? Don't worry, time is ticking down and experience shows that this will get here faster than we think. Also, tomorrow is the 21st and the day that border restrictions have been announced for the last 18 months or so. It turns out that our border is opening but the US border isn't quite yet. I'm guessing that by August 21st it's a two way street. We'll see. Hopefully we'll continue to see things trend in the right direction.
My weight, just for tracking sake is down 4lbs from 10 days ago. I know that's supposed to be good, but I find it slow and frustrating.
But enough of that; now it's time for us to discuss the first day! As you know the first day is a little fucked up. If you forget how fucked up it can be, let me remind you.
Sometimes the first day is not very memorable. And sometimes the first day can seem like 3 amazing days. Why?
Well we'll have been driving for 20 plus hours and for 9 or 10 hours in the daylight of Friday. It feels every bit like a full day has been lived by the time we get there. You'll have no trouble remembering how exhausted we'll be when we arrive. Sometime between 2pm and 5pm on Friday we'll get to Seralago and check in. Let's just assume it's 3pm when we check in just for the sake of argument. This is where our second day begins.
We may have to wait for the room to be released to us so what to do to occupy our time?
No. Not yet, we need to have the room first.
First we'll go to the little grocery / liquor store beside Havana Kiss and grab some booze and a few snacks. Maybe we'll walk. Maybe we'll drive. We're not getting anything big, just enough snacks and drinks for a day or two. Then we'll head back, grab our bathing suits from the car and change in the lobby washrooms. We'll go for a quick swim and sit back and enjoy what's left of the afternoon sun for a bit. I'm envisioning spending an hour, maybe an hour and a half by the pool. Swim. A few beers. Hot tub. Snack. Nap a few minutes here and there on our towels in our pool chairs.
Eventually our room will be ready .... and now .....
So I'm thinking that following the car ride odyssey, the swim, the hot tub, the sex and the beer, we will probably crash for a good hour or two.
Usually this is a hard sleep and often a mid day exhaustion nap feels like I slept the night which I'm kind of counting on. That's why when I wake up it feels like a second day has gone by on Friday and a new third day is starting.
We get up, get dressed and saunter over to Old Town. It'll probably be around 8ish. It'll be busy(ish) because it's the Friday night car show. The music will be awesome and people will be having a good time as we walk through Fun Spot. We'll start at the far end and go to the general store to get a beer as we wander down the street. As we meander we'll get to Sun on the Beach and we can decide whether we want to eat there or eat at Froggers.
We might do neither and just hang out for a while having a few drinks and listen to the band then get Checkers chicken burgers on the way home. We'll hang around Old Town until our exhaustion creeps back in and we'll head home after a very eventful day.
And that's how the first day of our vacation lasts 3 days. BAM.
xoxoxoxo
Comments
Post a Comment